移至主內容

2020 年 04 月 28 日 28 April 2020
亞洲衛星為5G時代來臨加強地面設施保護 確保C波段衛星服務與5G流動服務和諧共存

隨著5G網絡服務於香式展開,亞衛星加快步為其地面設施,包括C波段衛星遙測、追蹤及監控天線和電視單收站加強所需保,避免遭受5G基站能發射出的訊號,以確衛星運作暢順,並且為客無間斷的廣播、電訊及數據服

衛星位於香港的大埔地面站共裝有30C波段衛星天線,當中10枚由4.5米至11.3米,用作支衛星艦的遙測、追蹤及監控的工作;其餘的衛星電視接收天線負經亞衛星傳送的電和為客的電訊港服

AsiaSat Tai Po Earth Station at Tai Po Industrial Estate, New Territories, Hong Kong

亞洲衛星位於香新界大埔業邨大埔地面站

由於較低的C波段頻譜,即於香市場的3.5千兆赫頻帶,由原來應用於衛星服務,被重新編配為5G網絡服務之用,各衛星營者、廣業界、甚小口徑終端機 (VSAT) 、經衞星電視共用天線(SMATV)或電視單收站接收衛星電視的酒、和大量的商及住大廈,需採行動維現有的衛星服務接收;以減低接收3.4 千兆赫4.2 千兆赫頻譜衛星訊號時可能受到的影。單計香港就有1400多C波段衞星電視共用天線系,共859,000輸出點,另外區內亦設有多個C波段電訊港設施及甚小口徑終端樞紐。

過去幾個月,亞洲衛星已開始在C波段接收天線上安裝抗5G干擾帶通濾波器,以迎接香5G時代的來臨。該全新的濾波器由亞洲衛星產品團隊與香港微波專家共同研發,通過廣泛的測試後裝置於遍佈大中華區及其他亞市場的接收站。實地測和客戶在安裝後測均顯理想,亞洲衛星抗5G干擾帶通濾波器抑制5G訊號干擾時令鏈路低的情況減至最少。這證亞洲衛星多款抗5G干擾帶通濾波器能有效抑制來自附近5G基站干擾,確保衛星訊號接收質素穩定流暢。

BPF

(左圖 )為亞洲衛星大埔地面站內一枚3.7米接收天線的天線饋源上安裝亞洲衛星抗5G干擾帶通濾波器

(右圖 )在天線饋源上安裝了亞洲衛星抗5G干擾帶通濾波器 

Ports

(左圖 ) 將高頻頭與亞洲衛星抗5G干擾帶通濾波器及天線饋源連接

(右圖 ) 亞洲衛星抗5G干擾帶通濾波器與衛星接收天線上的兩個天線接收端口連接起來

在亞洲衛星多款抗5G干擾帶通濾波器中,專為中國和香港5G頻譜而設的BPF-3700S型號最先投入市場; 其他如BPF-3800R及BPF-3800S型號適用於南韓及新西蘭等地區; BPF-3900S型號適合中東市場;另外亦有適用於各個亞洲市場的BPF-3646、BPF-3660、BPF-3700T及BPF-3900S等型號,全都配備優化的抑制和通帶能力,可有效抑制3.6、3.7或3.8千兆赫頻帶的5G訊號干擾。

C波段頻譜對需要高可用性及廣的衛星服重要,尤其是為人煙稀少及偏地區建立通訊鏈,以及為提供關鍵性任務如災難恢復等服務更是不可或缺。亞洲衛星一直以來致力開發不同緩解措能有效保衛星運作和保C波段衛星用户免受5G傳輸帶來干擾的一系新款濾波器。

這些舉措正好印証C波段衛星服5G能透過適、有效規、測試和執行為業界創並和共存,最終達成雙贏局面。

Antenna

安裝輕巧的亞洲衛星帶通濾波器於一枚3.7米衛星電視接收天線的天線饋源上  

分類

相關文章

Skip to main content

2020 年 04 月 28 日 28 April 2020
AsiaSat gearing up efforts to ensure C-band satellite service and 5G service to co-exist harmoniously

In light of the roll-out of 5G in Hong Kong, AsiaSat has accelerated efforts to provide the necessary protection for its C-band TT&C (Telemetry, Tracking and Control) and TVRO antennas against potential interference from 5G deployment, to ensure the continuity of satellite operation and uninterrupted service to customers.

There are currently a total of 30 C-band antennas installed at AsiaSat’s Tai Po Earth Station in Hong Kong, with 10 C-band antennas of size ranging from 4.5m to 11.3m to support the TT&C activities of AsiaSat’s satellite fleet, and the remaining TVRO antennas for monitoring TV programmes delivered on AsiaSat as well as for teleport service to customers.

AsiaSat Tai Po Earth Station at Tai Po Industrial Estate, New Territories, Hong Kong

AsiaSat Tai Po Earth Station at Tai Po Industrial Estate, New Territories, Hong Kong

As the lower C-band spectrum originally used for satellite service, i.e. the 3.5 GHz band for Hong Kong market, has been reassigned for 5G, it is important that satellite operators, broadcast stations, VSAT networks, hotels and numerous commercial and residential buildings receiving satellite TV via SMATV systems or TVROs take steps to protect their existing satellite services to minimise the chance for satellite reception from the entire 3.4 to 4.2 GHz band to be affected. In Hong Kong alone, there are more than 1,400 C-band SMATV systems and 859,000 outlets, and additionally several C-band teleports and VSAT terminal hubs operating throughout the territory.

Over the past few months, AsiaSat has started installing bandpass filters (BPFs) on its C-band receiving antennas to prepare for the arrival of 5G service in Hong Kong. These bandpass filters, jointly developed by AsiaSat with local microwave experts, have been extensively tested and deployed at reception sites across Greater China and in other Asia-Pacific markets. Results from field tests and customer site installations have been positive and demonstrate that AsiaSat BPF’s insertion loss provide minimal link performance degradation while providing the required suppression of 5G signals. These new filters have proven to be effective in suppressing interfering signals from nearby 5G base stations, thus preserving the quality of satellite reception.

BPF

Photo caption (Left) Installing AsiaSat BPF on the antenna feed of one of AsiaSat’s 3.7m TVRO antenna in Tai Po

Photo caption (Right) AsiaSat BPF installed on the antenna feed

Ports

Photo caption (Left) Connecting AsiaSat BPF with LNB to the antenna feed

Photo caption (Right) AsiaSat BPFs connected to two antenna receive ports of a 3.7m TVRO antenna

Among AsiaSat’s bandpass filters, the BPF-3700S model was the first in the series launched and designed for the 5G spectrum requirements for Hong Kong SAR and China markets. Other models include BPF-3800R and BPF-3800S for South Korea and Australia, BPF-3900S for the Middle East, with models BPF-3664, 3600, 3700T and 3900S lately introduced for other Asia-Pacific markets, providing optimised rejection and passband to reject 5G spectrum up to 3.6, 3.7 and 3.8 GHz.

C-band is critical for satellite services that require high availability and wide area coverage, particularly indispensable for establishing communication links in sparsely populated and geographically remote areas, as well as for mission-critical operations such as disaster recovery. AsiaSat has been working to explore various mitigation measures including the use of this new bandpass filter that will work effectively in protecting our satellite operation as well as our customers and satellite users’ C-band services against interference from 5G transmissions in adjacent bands. This serves to prove that C-band satellite service and 5G mobile service can co-exist harmoniously with the right technologies, proper planning, testing and implementation to create value for all industry players, and ultimately benefit all customers and satellite users.

Antenna

AsiaSat’s bandpass filters, lightweight and compact, installed on the antenna feed of a 3.7m antenna

Categories

Related Articles