移至主內容

問問專家

請在這裏留下您的技術問題,我們會安排工程及衛星運作副總裁暨首席技術總監唐博士和他的團隊來回覆您。

 

常見問題

現在主要的4K/超高清壓縮技術有哪些?

 

HEVC和VP9是兩種最廣泛使用的壓縮編解碼器,二者的壓縮效率皆是MPEG-4 AVC(H.264)的兩倍。


HEVC(高效視頻編碼)
HEVC,也稱為H.265,視頻編碼聯合協同組(JCT-VC)在2013年首次推出。最新版本在2015年4月發表。此版本支持格式範圍的擴展,可擴展編碼的擴展,多視圖擴展和3D-HEVC擴展。
HEVC適用在多個第三方硬件和傳輸系統的有牌照使用。不同的廠商,例如ATEME,Harmonic, Rohde & Schwarz,已經實現了與HEVC編碼器不同的廣播應用。此外,所有名牌4K超高清電視都設有內置的HEVC解碼器。許多VOD媒體供應商,如Netflix和Amazon,,都爲觀衆提供通過HEVC壓縮的超高清內容。


VP9
跟HEVC不同,VP9是由谷歌開發的開放版權的視頻編碼格式。開發VP9的最初目的主要用於用戶計算機屏幕上的YouTube 超高清内容的傳輸,這樣的瀏覽器比如Chrome,Firefox等,都被集成VP9。
VP9在2011年開始發展,VP9的“profile 0”在2013年6月定稿。VP9有四種模式:profile 0,profile 1,profile 2和profile 3。他們支持每個樣品最高深度12位,4:4:4色度抽樣和alpha通道支持。它自己的繼任者,VP10,目前正在研發中,爲2016年年底的目標做好準備。
結論是,HEVC比VP9更受歡迎。事實上,只有一些界面,例如YouTube,Android等系統,瀏覽器如Chrome,Firefox等,採用VP9。

我怎樣可以收到亞洲衛星的超高清頻道:4K-SAT?

 

4K-SAT通過Rohde & Schwarz 公司最新的HEVC編碼器AVHE100,使用HEVC主要10個profile 來壓縮超高清內容。
4K-SAT視頻流是以50fps的幀速率,4:2:0色度採樣,10位顏色深度進行20Mbps壓縮。自2015年10月以來經122°E的亞洲絲毫衛星為亞太地區傳輸超高清電視節目。
4K-SAT是一個免費頻道,可以通過以下步驟來接收:
1.將C波段天線對準亞洲四號衛星,推薦衛星接收碟的大小如下圖所示

2. 將接收到的信號(L波段)接駁到支持DVB-S2, HDMI 2.0, 超高清質素和HEVC Main 10的衛星機頂盒盒(STB)。

3.用HDMI 2.0從STB輸出連接到超高清電視。輸入如下STB接收參數并且掃描頻道。
4. 享受4K-SAT傳輸的超高清電視節目。

甚麼是 HITS ?如何在家中接收 HITS 有線服務呢?

 

HITS(Headend-In-The-Sky空中前端)是一種電視傳輸平台,有線營運商可以透過這種平台向用戶發放已加密的優質數碼頻道。 HITS 營運商會透過不同衛星接收付費頻道內容,再於一個中心設施解密及匯集內容。頻道其後會轉駁至單一限制接收系統,進行多路傳輸,並再度上行至衛星作為 HITS ,再將訊號發送至所有有線營運商前端。有線營運商可以藉此開拓新層次的產品及服務,向用戶發放更多不同節目,卻毋須斥巨資購買設備及招聘人才。有線用戶亦可以藉數碼服務之便,享有更豐富的視像影音內容,甚至一系列多媒體服務及增值功能。

Skip to main content

Ask The Expert

Post your questions to Dr.Tong, our CTO and VP of Engineering &Operations and his team, who will get back to you shortly

 

FAQ

What are the major 4K/UHD compression technologies right now?

 

HEVC and VP9 are the two most widely used compression codecs today, and both of them double the compression efficiency of MPEG-4 AVC (H.264).


HEVC (High Efficiency Video Coding)
HEVC, also known as H.265, was debuted by Joint Collaborative Team on Video Coding (JCT-VC) in 2013. The latest version was published in April 2015. This version supports format range extensions, scalable coding extensions, multi-view extensions and 3D-HEVC extensions.
HEVC is usable in different third party hardware and transmission systems with license fee. Different vendors, e.g. ATEME, Harmonic, Rohde & Schwarz, have implemented their encoders with HEVC for different broadcasting applications. In addition, all name brand 4K UHDTVs have built-in HEVC decoder and many VOD media providers, such as Netflix and Amazon, design to provide their compressed UHD content to audiences via HEVC.


VP9
Different from HEVC, VP9 is an open and royalty free video coding format developed by Google. The initial purpose of developing VP9 was mainly for easy transmission of UHD content on YouTube to users computer screen, browsers like Chrome, Firefox and etc., have been integrated with VP9.
The development of VP9 started in 2011 and the “profile 0” of VP9 was finalized in June of 2013. VP9 has four profiles: profile 0, profile 1, profile 2, and profile 3. They support for maximum bit depth of 12-bits per sample, 4:4:4 chroma subsampling and alpha channel support. Its own successor, VP10, is currently under development and target to ready by end of 2016.


As a result, HEVC is more popular than VP9. In fact, only some of the interfaces, for example YouTube, Android system, browsers like Chrome, Firefox and etc., adopted VP9.

How can I receive AsiaSat's 4K/UHD channel 4K-SAT?

 

4K-SAT uses HEVC Main 10 profile to compress the UHD content via Rohde & Schwarz latest HEVC encoder, AVHE100.
The 4K-SAT video stream is compressed at 20Mbps with frame rate at 50fps, 10-bits colour depth and 4:2:0 chroma sampling. It has been launched on AsiaSat 4 at 122°E for the UHD broadcasting in Asia Pacific region since Oct 2015.
4K-SAT is a free-to-air channel and can be received by the following steps:
1. Point a C-band antenna to AsiaSat 4. The recommended dish size is shown in the figure below.

2. Connect the receive signal (in L-band) to a satellite set-top-box (STB) which supports DVB-S2, HDMI 2.0, UHD resolution and HEVC Main 10.
3. Connect the HDMI 2.0 output of STB to a UHDTV. Input the reception parameters into the STB and scan the channel.

4. Enjoy the real UHD programmes on 4K-SAT.

What is HITS? How can I receive HITS cable service at home?

 

HITS (Headend-in-the-Sky) is a TV delivery platform that allows cable operators to offer a readily encrypted high quality digital package of channels to their subscribers. A HITS operator will receive pay channels from various satellites which are to be decrypted and aggregated at a central facility. Channels are then turnaround with a single conditional access system, multiplexed and uplinked again to a satellite which acts as a 'Headend-in-the-Sky' and beams the signals to all cable operators' headends. This would allow cable operators to offer a new level of products and services with increased programming choices to customers at minimum investment in equipment and expertise. The cable subscribers can enjoy richer pictures, sound and an even wider range of multimedia services and value added features offered by the digital service. To receive the HITS digital cable service, please contact your local cable operators to see when this service is available in your area.